Home NEWS Diri, Of PDP, Re-Elected Bayelsa Governor

Diri, Of PDP, Re-Elected Bayelsa Governor

Senator Douye Diri

The incumbent and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Douye Diri, has been declared the winner of the Saturday, November 11, Bayelsa State governorship election.
The INEC Returning Officer for the election and Deputy Vice Chancellor of the University of Nigeria Nsukka, Professor Faruk Kuta, announced the result of the election today, November 13, in Yenagoa, the state capital.
He said that Diri defeated his closest challenger and former Minister of Petroleum Resources, Timipre Sylva, by over 65,000 votes.
He said: “That Diri Douye of the PDP, having satisfied the requirements of the law, is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected.”
Diri scored 175,196 votes, while Sylva polled 110,108 votes, with the Labour Party having a paltry 905 votes to come a distant third.
All the results
Southern Ijaw LGA
APC: 18,174
LP: 119
PDP: 24,685
Brass LGA
APC: 18,431
LP: 83
PDP: 12,602
Sagbama LGA
APC: 6,608
LP: 217
PDP: 35,504
Kolokuma/Opokuma LGA
APC: 5,349
LP: 22
PDP: 18,465
Ogbia LGA
APC: 16,319
LP: 57
PDP: 18,435
Yenagoa LGA
APC: 14,534
LP: 244
PDP: 37,777
Nembe LGA
APC: 22,248
LP: 113
PDP: 4,556
Ekeremor LGA
APC: 8,445
LP: 50
PDP: 23,172.

Leave a Reply