Home NEWS POLITICS APC Campaign Team: Osinbajo, Mustapha Were Left Out To Face Governance –...

APC Campaign Team: Osinbajo, Mustapha Were Left Out To Face Governance – Keyamo

Festus Keyamo

The Spokesperson for the Tinubu/Shettima Presidential Campaign Council, Festus Keyamo, has said that Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo and Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha were left out of the 422-man list of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Presidential Campaign Council to enable them concentrate on governance of the country.

Keyamo, in a statement today, September 24, said that the directive to that effect came straight from President Muhammadu Buhari.

He said: “Our attention has been drawn to some stories making the rounds that there may be something amiss within the family of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the name of our own revered and respected Vice-President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo, SAN, GCON, is not included in the list of the Tinubu/Shettima Presidential Campaign Council.

“Nothing can be farther from the facts. For the avoidance of doubt, President Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR, is the Chairman of the Campaign Council. As a result, Mr. President has specifically directed that the Vice-President and the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Mr. Boss Mustapha should be left out of the Campaign Council to concentrate on the governance of the country and administration of Government.

“As a responsible Party and Government, all the key functionaries of government cannot abandon their positions for electioneering campaigns. The APC has the mandate of the Nigerian people to administer the country on their behalf at least till May 29, 2023, and this we intend to do with all sense of responsibility.”

Keyamo also said that the list that was released would be subject to periodic review.

“Our candidates and the leadership of the APC have also indicated that the list is not sacrosanct as there may be periodic review of it as circumstances dictate.

“We will not toe the path of those who governed the country in an irresponsible manner before us and our party is not in total disarray like those who wish to ‘rescue’ the country, but cannot simply manage their own internal affairs.”

Other prominent members of the party that were also not included in the campaign council include former Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Babachir Lawal; former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara; former Minister of State for Education, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, amongst others.

See also:  Iranian President, Ebrahim, Dies In Helicopter Crash

Osinbajo and Nwajiuba had contested the presidential primary of the ruling party with former Lagos State Governor, Bola Tinubu, who eventually won the ticket even Dogara and Lawal have since registered their opposition to Tinubu’s choice of a Muslim like himself as running mate.

Leave a Reply