Home NEWS POLITICS Defection To PDP: Jonathan Rewards Shekarau With Ministerial Position

Defection To PDP: Jonathan Rewards Shekarau With Ministerial Position

Former governor of Kano state under All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP), Alhaji Ibrahim Shekarau has been rewarded by President Goodluck Jonathan for defecting to the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) with a ministerial position.
Shekarau’s name made the list of four Nigerians which has been forwarded to the Senate for confirmation.
Shekarau recently crossed over from the opposition All Progressives Congress (APC) to PDP.
In a letter to the Senate, the President also named Stephen Orise Oruh from Delta State, Prince Adedayo Adeyeye (Ekiti State) and Dr. Abdul Bulama from (Yobe State) for appointment as ministers. Kwara and Anambra States without substantive ministers were however not included in the list.

The President said in the letter to Senate President, David Mark: “In accordance with Section 147, Sub-Section 2 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 (as amended), I have the honour to forward the under listed ministerial nominees for consideration and Senate confirmation.

“Dr. Abdul Bulama, Yobe state, Dr. Stephen Oruh, Delta State, Mallam Ibrahim Shekarau, Kano State, and  Prince Adedayo Adeyeye, Ekiti State.

“It is my hope that this exercise will receive the usual kind expeditious consideration of the distinguished members of the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.”

It was learnt that three out of the four nominees would fill the gap created by the exit of the former ministers of Niger Delta Affairs, Elder Godsday Orubebe (Delta), Police Affairs, Caleb Olubolade (Ekiti), and Minister for State for Finance, Yerima Ngama (Yobe).

Hadjiya Jamilia Salik from Kano State was among the 12 ministerial nominees forwarded to the Senate for confirmation in January but she was not screened for the job.

However, Kwara and Anambra States are yet to get ministerial nominees to fill the slots of their states following the removal of Mallam Bolaji Abdulahi from Kwara State as Sports Minister in March this year and Princess Stella Odua who hitherto represented Anambra State as Minister of Aviation. [myad]

Leave a Reply