Home NEWS POLITICS Fear Of Implosion: PDP BoT Works On Consensus Presidential Candidate

Fear Of Implosion: PDP BoT Works On Consensus Presidential Candidate

Chairman of the Board, Senator Walid Jibrin

The Board of Trustees (BoT) of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has made a move, with the setting up of a 12-member committee to work on consensus option in picking its Presidential candidate from amongst 13 presidential aspirants now jostling for the position.

According to the chairman of the BoT, Senator Walid Jibrin, the present number of aspirants is complex, stressing that there are fears that there could be disagreement among the contestants that could lead to major divisions after the primaries.

“A committee has been set up to discuss with all the aspirants to come up with one of them as a consensus candidate. We have 13 of them in the race.

“We have also advised the leadership of the party to regulate the processes and draw a code of conduct to guide the conduct and behaviour of the aspirants and officials to be engaged in the selection process.

“Consequently, the BoT has forwarded its full recommendations to the National Working Committee (NWC) of the PDP for consideration.”

Jibrin, whose tenure as chairman Bot has been renewed, urged members of the BoT to always maintain their honour and integrity by remaining neutral in all the processes leading to the emergence of party’s candidate.

See also:  Convene APC NEC Or Face Legal Action, Ex National Vice Chairman Tells Ganduje

The chairman of the BoT stressed that the committee would not compel any of the aspirants to withdraw from the race, but rather, “they would be persuaded to put the interest of the party above their personal interests and ambitions”.

Those in the race for the presidential ticket of the PDP are: former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar; Sokoto State Governor, Aminu Tambuwal; Gombe State Governor, Ibrahim Dankwabo; President of the Senate, Bukola Saraki; former Governor of Jigawa State, Sule Lamido; former Governor of Kaduna State, Ahmed Makarfi; former Plateau State Governor, Jonah Jang; and former President of the Senate, David Mark.

Others are: former Minister Special Duties Duties and Inter-governmental Affairs, Kabiru Tanimu Turaki; former Governor of Kano State, Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso; former Governor of Sokoto State, Attahiru Bafarawa; Mr. Stanley Osifo and a former Senator, Baba Datti Ahmed.

The BoT had last week met in Abuja where it disclosed that it was working to reduce the rising number of presidential aspirants, but said it would not force any aspirant to step down.


Leave a Reply