Home NEWS POLITICS Kogi Guber Poll: INEC Suspends Election In 9 Wards

Kogi Guber Poll: INEC Suspends Election In 9 Wards

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced the suspension of election in nine wards in the just concluded Governship election in Kogi State.
The Commission gave the list of the wards un Ogori/Magongo Local Government Area as Eni, Okibo, Okesi, Ileteju, Aiyeromi, Ugugu, Obinoyin, Obatgben and Oturu.
The National Commissioner and Member of the
Information and Voter Education Committee, Mohammed Kudu Haruna, in a statement today, November 11, said  that the suspension of the election came following reports from our officials in Kogi State on incidences of electoral malpractices, particularly the incident of result sheets completed before voting.
“Reports indicate that the incidents occurred in Adavi, Ajaokuta, Ogori/Magongo, Okehi and Okene Local Government Areas.
“The most serious incidents occurred in Ogori/Magongo, affecting nine of 10 Registration Areas.
“This is entirely unacceptable. Any result not emanating from the Commission’s process in the Polling Units will not be accepted.
“The Commission is determined not to reward bad behaviour.
The Haruna said that the incidences in the other Local Government Areas are being thoroughly investigated, and  that the outcome, including the way forward, will be announced in the next 24 hours.
“Meanwhile, as the processes continue, we follow the audit trail of personnel and materials to ascertain those who may have been complicit in undermining the process.
“We have a record of all officials deployed at various levels as supervisors, monitors, technical staff or polling unit officials and all election materials issued to them.
“Appropriate sanctions will be applied where necessary.
“The Commission assures voters in Kogi State that their votes are protected, and their wishes will be respected.”

Leave a Reply