Home NEWS POLITICS Saturday’s Poll: Elected Governors Are Emerging

Saturday’s Poll: Elected Governors Are Emerging

Following the governorship and State Houses of Assembly election held on Saturday, March 18 in the country, results of the winners are trickling in.

In Ogun State Governor Dapo Abiodun, on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC), was declared the winner. He polled 276,298 votes to defeat his closest challenger, Ladi Adebutu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who scored 262,383 votes.

He was declared the winner by the INEC Returning Officer, Professor Kayode Adebowale.

In Akwa Ibom State, INEC declared Umo Eno of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), as the winner. The Returning Officer, Professor Emmanuel Adigio, Vice Chancellor, Nigerian Maritime University, Delta, announced the result, saying that Eno won in 29 out of 31 Local Government Areas of the state to defeat Sen. Bassey Akpan of the Young Progressive Party (YPP).

He said that the PDP candidate scored 354,348 votes, beating closet rival, of Young Progressive Party (YPP), who got 136,262 votes.

He said that the All Progressives Congress (APC) scored 129,602 votes while the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) got 12,509 votes while Labour Party (LP) scored 4,746 votes

In Jigawa State the incumbent Deputy Governor and APC candidate, Umar Namadi, was declared the winner by INEC’s Returning Officer, Umar Zaiyan of Federal University Birnin Kebbi, announced the result on Sunday in Dutse.

Zaiyan said Namadi scored 618,449 votes to beat his closest rival, Mustapha Sule Lamido, who polled 368,726 votes.

See also:  South Africa Urges UN Court to Halt Israel's 'Genocidal' Assault on Gaza

And in Kwara State, the incumbent governor on the platform of the APC, Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq was the winner.

The Returning Officer and Vice Chancellor, University of Markurdi, Isaac Itodo, said that Abdulrazaq won in all the 16 local government areas of the state. The governor polled the highest votes of 273,242, while his closet rival, Shuaib Yaman of the PDP scored 155,490, while Akeem Lawal of the Social Democratic Party (SD) came third with 18,922

In Gombe State, the incumbent governor, Inuwa Yahaya of the APC also returned, having been declared winner by the INEC returning officer, Professor Maimuna Waziri, the Vice Chancellor of Federal University, Gashua.

Professor Waziri said that Governor Yahaya scored 342, 821 votes to defeat his closest rival, Jibrin Barde of the PDP, who polled 233,131 votes.

Also in Yobe State, the incumbent governor, Mai Mala Buni of the APC was declared the winner.
Announcing the result, the State Returning Officer, Professor Umar Pate said that Mai Mala Buni scored 317,113 to defeating, Sheriff Abdullahi of the PDP, who scored 104,259.

In Katsina State, Dikko Umar Radda of the APC emerged winner. He  polled 859,892 votes to beat Garba Yakubu Lado of PDP, who scored 486,620 votes.

Professor Ma’azu Abubakar Gusau, Returning Officer for Katsina governorship poll, announced the result.

Leave a Reply