Home NEWS Senate Confirms Buhari’s Service Chiefs

Senate Confirms Buhari’s Service Chiefs

New Service Chiefs

The Senate has confirmed the appointment of Chief of Defence Staff and Service Chiefs by President Buhari.

Following the motion by Senate Leader, Ali Ndume seeking Committee of the whole, to confirm service chiefs, he drew the attention of the lawmakers to Section 18 (1) of the Armed Forces Act to consider the request of President Buhari to confirm their appointment.

“That the Senate do consider the request of Mr President, C–IN-C, for the confirmation of the following nominees for appointment as Chief of Defence Staff and Service Chief respectively”. Ndume said.

Those confirmed are:

Major General Amazonia Gabriel Olonisakin – Chief of Defence Staff

Major General Tukur Yususfu Buratai – Chief of Army Staff
Rear Admiral Ibok-Ete Ekwe – Ibas – Chief of Naval Staff
Air Vice Marshall Sadique Baba Abubakar – Chief of Air Staff

While congratulating the Service Chiefs on their confirmation, the Senate President charged them to provide a new leadership in the most challenging times, especially insecurity in the Northeast and other places.

See also:  Kano Hisbah Allocates 50 Women To Journalists In Forthcoming Mass Wedding

“I want to congratulate the Service Chiefs having been confirmed by the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and I do hope that you will provide a new leadership in the challenging times in the North East and other places in Nigeria,” Saraki said.

He also took them to task by asking them to be focused so as to restore the lost glory of the military and to also ensure due process in procurement of military hard wares.”

Leave a Reply