Home NEWS Tinubu Officially Takes The Seat As 16Th President Of Nigeria

Tinubu Officially Takes The Seat As 16Th President Of Nigeria

Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu has been officially sworn-in as the 16th President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria in an event which took place inside the Eagle Square, Abuja.
President Tinubu took the oath of office today , May 29, administered by the Chief Justice of the Federation, Kayode Ariwoola. Tinubu’s wife, Senator Oluremi was by his side at the event.
Asíwájú Tinubu, who won the 2023 presidential election, took over from Muhammadu Buhari who ruled the country for eight years.
The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had declared Tinubu, the presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the winner of the February 23, 2023 presidential election.
The Chairman of INEC, Professor Mahmood Yakubu declared Tinubu the winner in Abuja.
Tinubu, who was once Lagos state governor, polled a total votes of 8,794,726 to defeat his closest rival and the presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Atiku Abubakar who scored 6,984,520 votes, and Peter Obi of Labour party who polled 6,101,533 votes.
The presidential candidate of New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP), Rabiu Kwankwaso came a distant fourth with the total votes of 1,496,687 votes.
The registered voters for the election was 93,469,008, while 25,286,616 voters were accredited.
Professor Yakubu said that the total valid votes was 24,025,940, while total rejected votes was 939,278.
The INEC chairman said that the total number of votes cast was 24,965,218.
He declared: “I certify that I am the returning officer for the 2023 presidential election held on the 25th of February 2003.
“That Tinubu Bola Ahmed of the APC, having satisfied the requirements of the law is hereby declared the winner and returned elected. The Certificate of Return to the president elect and Vice president elect will take place here at 3pm today.”

Leave a Reply